Play
Multi-Player
Coins
Community
Settings
Help
Community   Maps   Forum   Mail   Ladders   Clans   Recent Games
Sign In | Sign Up
<< Back to General Forum   

Posts 1 - 21 of 21   
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:25:39

Mike
Level 57
Report
is it possible to play 2 in a same turn ? is it possible to play 2 in a row ? will the next orders be extra delayed or something ?
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:33:51


Tristan
Level 57
Report
Why would you need to play 2 in a row? One card delays all the orders following it, not just one.

Or do you mean will playing two cards make sure that your orders are last if your opponent plays a delay card too? In that case, no. I'm fairly sure that multiple priority/delay cards don't stack.
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:33:56


TeamGuns 
Level 58
Report
Yes they stack, you will get a "double delay" in your orders. You'll be able to outdelay anyone that use none or one card.

If both players use 2 cards, the normal delay rule applies.

Edited 3/26/2016 16:34:30
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:36:56


Cloud Strife
Level 58
Report
Yes, yes and depends on what you mean - delay card's effect is to put your first order after all the other player's orders. Double OD card is very useful if you REALLY want to delay all or some of your orders (since another player can play OD card at the same turn and if you both played a single OD card, both your orders that come after OD card and said player's would play as they normally do in respect to each other - note that they would still come after all the other players' orders in the game).

In fact,I see no reason not to play them in a row if you intend to play them.
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:39:46

Mike
Level 57
Report
ok thks ; and im at a 4 borders of his bonus, so he has more interest in hitting me first order no ? plus he has more income so can hope to kill me ? If so maybe i shouldnt or dont need to use the card ?
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:44:58


Cloud Strife
Level 58
Report
Again, depends but if you think he can and will wipe you with a single attack, order priority card would be better and a single hit (esp. if all 4 territories are in the same bonus.)
delay card: 3/26/2016 16:45:41


TeamGuns 
Level 58
Report
yeap
delay card: 3/26/2016 21:33:05


Semicedevine
Level 59
Report
delay card's effect is to put your first order after all the other player's orders. Double OD card is very useful if you REALLY want to delay all or some of your orders (since another player can play OD card at the same turn and if you both played a single OD card, both your orders that come after OD card and said player's would play as they normally do in respect to each other - note that they would still come after all the other players' orders in the game).

wtf i didn't know that!

i thought it was like a placeholder or something
delay card: 3/26/2016 21:36:17


Cata Cauda 
Level 57
Report
Yep, delay cards stack.
delay card: 3/27/2016 05:16:24

[wolf]japan77
Level 56
Report
Semice, maybe you should actually look at what happens during a turn when you do something.
delay card: 3/27/2016 13:22:47


Semicedevine
Level 59
Report
good idea
delay card: 3/27/2016 18:22:57


TeamGuns 
Level 58
Report
Semice, how the fuck you're on that position on the ladder again? xD
delay card: 3/28/2016 23:18:59

Mike
Level 57
Report
Oh also is it better to play the card in first order so all your orders are delayed, so your last one is "extra" delayed altogether, or use it just before your last order that you want to delay ?

Edited 3/28/2016 23:19:12
delay card: 3/29/2016 00:14:03


Legi
Level 56
Report
i have knew the "delay-card-stack-rule" , read some of the warlight-wiki in my early days, but i never had to use this rule. well i think in most of the standard strategic games you have almost every turn a use for a delay card .
delay card: 3/29/2016 06:29:35


Cloud Strife
Level 58
Report
Mike - in general, it's better to have as many "extra" delays as possible in case your opponent plays the OD card as well. However, you can combine things you'd like to do before your opponent moves (like first order attack with or without an OP card, moving stacks or leftovers to strengthen your defenses) with an OD card played after that to delay all the moves that would not affect anything and create the "extra" delay for your final order.
delay card: 3/29/2016 07:09:26


TeamGuns 
Level 58
Report
^+1

Once the game was so complex, the turn so hard and we were playing for more then 20 turns so we knew a bit about each other. I used 2 first order cards, because I needed the first move to succeed at all costs, and I knew he would use a first order too. Then I had a set of normal moves that reinforced my positions. Then I used one delay card, and a bunch of extra moves that needed to be done on this layer against my opponent (he'd used a delay too), and then a last delay card for my final moves on the turn.

One of the best plays I've ever done, I went up from a tie to a certain victory after this turn.


Again, using double cards is really only for very specific and complex situations, maybe not as much as the one I gave, but if well timed and operated, you can take your opponent off-guard.
delay card: 4/22/2016 10:51:29

Mike
Level 57
Report
But how about playing it in 2nd move or last just before your final attack, so that your opponent plays his before yours, then he waits for my orders to finish BUT one of my order is to play the next ones after his orders (OD) so then it comes back to him no ? Or despite my card it makes me finish my other orders ?
delay card: 4/22/2016 10:58:52


Solitarius Sempiternus
Level 57
Report
If you both use an OD the the moves after it being played with be the same as if neither of you played one however the moves before using it will not count for the delays.
delay card: 4/22/2016 11:21:41

Mike
Level 57
Report
So makes no difference to use it in 1st 2nd or 10th order if the other plays one too ? So if you have no urgent move you might as well play OD first order then all delays after ?
delay card: 4/22/2016 11:29:28


knyte 
Level 58
Report
DISCLAIMER: I didn't cross-check this specific scenario with a turn (although I know the general concept holds) so I might be a bit off about the intricacies of turn order.

So ChrisCMU explained it best in an earlier thread I'm too lazy to dig up- you're basically creating a new "bucket" each time you use a Priority or Delay card- Priority card bucket just takes your first move from the Standard Bucket (+ flips/rotates natural turn order in the Standard Bucket), while Delay card takes all moves that would've been after the card. If you use a Delay card, you're creating a bucket of moves that are going to take turns after everything in the standard bucket (not delayed) is exhausted. If you use two, then you just created two buckets.

So say we have this scenario, with Player A having natural first order:

Player A:
- plays Order Priority, creating Priority Bucket 1 and moving Player A - Move 1 into it (Player B - Move 1 is now the first move in the Standard Bucket)
- makes 3 moves (all except first go in the Standard Bucket)
- plays Order Delay, creating Delay Bucket 1 and shifting all remaining Player A moves into it
- has 2 small delay moves (Delay Bucket 1)
- has one real move (Delay Bucket 1)
- plays another Delay, creating Delay Bucket 2 and shifting all remaining Player A moves into it
- has a move (Delay Bucket 2)

Player B:
- plays Delay, co-creating Delay Bucket 1 and shifting all Player B moves into it
- plays Delay, co-creating Delay Bucket 2 and shifting all Player B moves into it
- makes 6 moves (all of which go in Delay Bucket 2)

Here's the order everything will be executed in:

[Priority Bucket 1 - created by Player A's Priority Card]
Player A - Move 1
[Standard Bucket]
Player A - Move 2
Player A - Move 3
[Delay Bucket 1- created by Player A and Player B's 1st Delays]
Player A - Move 4
Player A - Move 5
Player A - Move 6
[Delay Bucket 2 - created by Player A and Player B's 2nd Delays]
Player B - Move 1
Player A - Move 7
Player B - Move 2
Player B - Move 3
Player B - Move 4
Player B - Move 5
Player B - Move 6

(Order Priority also flips natural turn order in the Standard Bucket each time it's played- so if B didn't play those delays, their first move would be first in the Standard Bucket).

So makes no difference to use it in 1st 2nd or 10th order if the other plays one too ?


That's essentially the case- if you have 8 orders in the middle, that's just going to make your move go later within the Delay Bucket- which is only useful if your opponent also plays a Delay. I always move my Delay card to right after the last urgent move, just in case my opponent plays a Delay too.

I've only really ever had to pull a double Delay once, in a game against MotD. It's rarely ever necessary, unless both you and your opponent absolutely have to delay a move and you just want that increased guarantee that you'll actually go last.

Edited 4/22/2016 11:40:50
delay card: 4/22/2016 11:46:24


Solitarius Sempiternus
Level 57
Report
So if you have no urgent move you might as well play OD first order then all delays after


Yes unless you really want a move to go first it is most efficient to put all your delays after the card.

Edit: https://www.warlight.net/MultiPlayer?GameID=11007336 - In this game turn 11 we both played 2 order delays and I made one move before mine so it didn't count and you can see how the move order worked. If one of us had only played 1 OD card then the other would have the delay indefinitely.

Edited 4/22/2016 11:53:50
Posts 1 - 21 of 21   

Contact | About WarLight | Play Risk Online | Multiplayer Strategy Game | Challenge Friends, Win Money | Skill Game | Terms of Service